The Hôtel-Dieu and its history
Founded in 1669 by the Marquis Jacques-François de HAUTEFORT (1609/1680), the Hôtel Dieu de HAUTEFORT in Périgord will not be completed until 1717. It is thanks to a royal edict of 1662, in the period of the great confinement , That the marquis realizes this project. Rare hospital foundation, unique in New Aquitaine and France with this Greek cross architecture, it had to accommodate in each of the three rooms 11 women (in the hall of the Holy Spirit), 11 men (in the room of the Eternal Father) and 11 boys (in the hall of the Divine Word), totaling the 33 years of the life of Jesus Christ. From 1685, the first poor occupy the building whose construction lasted 1/2 century. In 1747, the marquis’ brother appealed to the sisters of the NEVERS congregation who remained in HAUTEFORT until 1995. Since 1995, it has housed a museum of the History of Medicine which occupies six rooms on two levels to which is added the chapel.